Check mail | Contact Us | Tel no. of HODs  
CSIR - National Aerospace Laboratories
ISO 9001 : 2008 Certified

News & Events - Information Pasteboard

#IP 1100 21 -27 Oct 2013

Dr Guruprasad's distinction

The International Board of Awards Committee of the National Environmental Science Academy (NESA), New Delhi has awarded Dr R Guruprasad of KTMD, CSIR-NAL as ‘Scientist of the Year 2013’.

The merit for consideration for the award was based on two heads, namely: (a) Academic Achievements and (b) Experience and Publications.

Dr Guruprasad’s in-depth research work in studying the ‘Use Patterns of Electronic Information Resources among the Aerospace Scientists and Engineers of Bangalore’ and his innovative application of ‘Metadata techniques’ in chronicling the Civil Aircraft Development at CSIR-NAL has been duly recognized by this International Board of Awards Committee.

The award consists of a gold medal, citation and certificate.

Dr Guruprasad would be receiving the award in the forthcoming national seminar on ‘Climate Change, Environment and Sustainable Development at Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi on 10 December 2013.


Congratulations Anantha Prasad Chary

Mr. K. Anantha Prasad Chary has sucessfully completed Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Indira Gandhi National Open University




#IP 1099 14-20 Oct 2013

Dr G N Dayananda's distinction

The VASVIK Award for the year 2011 in the category of Mechanical & Structural Sciences & Technology has been awarded to Dr G N Dayananda, Chief Scientist and Head of the Centre for Societal Missions & Special Technologies at CSIR-National Aerospace laboratories, Bengaluru. VASVIK Industrial Research Awards are given to an individual or group of individuals, who, have made outstanding contribution to the advancement of science and technology or provided leadership leading directly to national prosperity in India. Dr Dayananda has successfully led the CSIR- NAL team effort in  the Development of Indigenous State-of-the-Art Aerospace Grade Autoclave Technology. A successful public Private Partnership(PPP) model along with the Private industries, M/s UCE-Mumbai and M/s Datasol-Bengaluru to manufacture and market these autoclaves has been put in place. The PPP model is expected to pave the way for more such initiatives exploiting the technological strengths of our public sector and marketing & production capabilities of the private sector.



#IP 1098 7 - 13 Oct 2013

Inaugural Session of 27th AGM of ISAMPE

The inaugural session of the 27th AGM of ISAMPE started with an invocation on 23 August 2013 in the S R Valluri  Auditorium, NAL. Dr K Vijayaraju, President, ISAMPE welcomed all the members and delegates to the AGM. He declared the theme of the AGM to be “Certification of Aerospace Materials and Structures”.

This was followed by the keynote address by the Chief Guest, Dr C P Ramanarayanan, FNAE, Outstanding Scientist & Director, GTRE (DRDO), Bangalore. Dr Ramanarayan, in his keynote address, beautifully brought out the importance of materials and processing in modern day engineering.

The Vijay Zaveri Memorial Lecture was delivered by Shri N C Sharma, Tata Advanced Materials Limited. He presented an overview of the challenges and opportunities in the fields of composite manufacturing industry.

Dr. Girija Gopalratam, Acting Director, NAL delivered the presidential address for the occasion.

This was followed by distribution of different Awards by Dr K Vijayaraju, President, ISAMPE. Details of the awards and the awardees for the year 2012 are given below and the citations were read out by Shri Samudra Dasgupta, Jt. Secretary, ISAMPE.

“Vijay Zaveri Award for Excellence in Technical Support – 2013” was conferred on Shri. M Rajan, Jr. Engineer, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram for his work on “Fitting & assembly of composite parts for launch vehicle & spacecraft projects”.

  1. ISAMPE Outstanding Design and / or Process Development Award – 2013” was conferred on Shri Vinu Viswanath, Head-Product Development Section, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram for his work titled “Design &Dev. of Dual gridded antenna reflector for satellite application”.
  2. “ISAMPE Award for Smart Materials and Systems Technology Development - 2013” was conferred on Dr. Soma Dutta, Sr. Scientist, CSIR-NAL, Bangalore for her work titled “Piezo Ceramic thin films and coatings for Aerospace applications”.
  3. “ISAMPE Student Award for Smart Materials and Systems Technology Development – 2013” was conferred on Dr.P Govindan, Research Scholar, IIT Bombay, Mumbai for his work titled “Process development and dry modeling of EDM”.

Shri D Saji, Secretary, ISAMPE proposed the formal Vote of Thanks to conclude the Inaugural Session.

D Saji


TEAM NAL wishes our colleagues a very happy, healthy and productive life after superannuation on 30 September 2013.

Shri Raghu M, ALD
Shri Manogaran M, ADK
Shri Daniel Manoharan A, Propulsion Division
Dr. Prakasa Rao EVS, C-MMACS

Recent issues of NAL Information Pasteboard Prev Next
To access previous issues of the Information Pasteboard please choose
the month and year (starting Sep 2006) and click on the "goto" button

Year:  Month: 

Updated on -